How do I block another member?
You can block another member if you feel that they are harassing you or if you want to cut off any interaction with them.
NOTE: If you find that you are unable to follow this process, please use the Report a Bug link to let us know so that we can assist with the issue.
To block a member, click on their user name in a post or message. On a post, the user name is located on the “by” line under the post title. In a private message, the user name shows as the name of the person who sent the message.
Figure 1- Post View
Figure 1- Message ViewIf you are not currently friends with the member, you will see three boxes on the top right side of their profile: add friend, block user, Private Message. Click block user to block them.
If you are currently friends with the member, you will first need to unfriend them. The extra step is so that you don’t accidently block friends when visiting their profile or clicking to send a Private Message.
You will see two boxes. A green box that indicates that you are currently Friends and a Private Message box. Place your cursor over the green Friend box and it will turn to a red Unfriend box. Click Unfriend.
Figure 3 - C
You will be notified that the friendship has been removed. You will now need to reload the users profile. You can use the back button in your browser and refresh their profile page to do this.
You will now see the three boxes on the top right side of their profile: add friend, block user, Private Message. Click block user to block them.
Figure 3-DIf you have sent a friend request to another member and they have not acted on it, you will need to cancel the friend request before you can block them. We are simplifying this process but at this time you will need to click your Friend icon at the top of your thought’s page to open your friend list.
Figure 4 - Step 1Scroll to the bottom of your friend list. Under the pictures of your friends you will see a list of requests awaiting confirmation. Click the Cancel request button beside the name of the member.
Figure 4 - Step 2You will need to locate their profile again from a post or message, but you will now see the block user button and can block them.
Figure 4 - Step 3NOTE: If you find that you are unable to follow this process, please use the Report a Bug link to let us know so that we can assist with the issue.
The other member will not be notified that they have been blocked. They will still see your public posts in the list of Recent posts, but they will not be able to read the post or leave comments on the post. They will also not be able to send you private messages.
You will no longer see posts made by members that you have blocked. You will not be able to leave them comments or to send them private messages.
We will soon be adding a feature that will allow you to see your blocked list and unblock members if you feel you no longer need to block them.